Saturday, Jul 20 2024 | Time 00:14 Hrs(IST)

BCCI announces Team India for Zimbabwe tour, excludes Rohit & Virat

BCCI announces Team India for Zimbabwe tour, excludes Rohit & Virat

Mumbai, June 24 (UNI) In a surprising and bold move, the Men’s Selection Committee has unveiled a 15-member squad for India's upcoming tour of Zimbabwe, notably excluding cricketing giants Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli.
This decision marks a significant shift, underscoring a focus on nurturing emerging talent and strategic experimentation.
The team is set to embark for Harare in the first week of July to engage in a five-match T20I series against Zimbabwe. This series promises to be a stage for showcasing the dynamism and versatility of India's next-generation cricketers.
With Shubman Gill at the helm as captain, the selection committee has blended youthful exuberance with seasoned expertise, aiming to strike a perfect balance between raw potential and tactical acumen.
Promising young batsmen Yashasvi Jaiswal and Ruturaj Gaikwad are poised to leave their mark on the international stage, bringing their aggressive flair and composure to the fore. Meanwhile, the experienced Sanju Samson, alongside fellow wicketkeeper Dhruv Jurel, adds depth and stability to the batting lineup, ensuring a robust middle order.
The all-round capabilities of Abhishek Sharma and Washington Sundar, combined with the spin mastery of Ravi Bishnoi, fortify the squad's versatility. These players are expected to play crucial roles, both with the bat and ball, adapting to the dynamic demands of T20 cricket.
Leading the pace attack, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar, and Tushar Deshpande bring a mix of speed, swing, and seam, ready to challenge the Zimbabwean batsmen on their home turf. Their performance will be crucial in creating pressure and taking wickets at key moments.
This series offers an invaluable platform for the younger players to shine, gain international experience, and build their careers. It also serves as an opportunity for the team to build synergy, experiment with strategies, and gather momentum ahead of future competitions. Cricket enthusiasts can look forward to a highly competitive and thrilling series, filled with promising cricketing action and emerging stars.
Shubman Gill (Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Abhishek Sharma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (WK), Dhruv Jurel (WK), Nitish Reddy, Riyan Parag, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar, Tushar Deshpande.


More News

Need to nurture young sports talent: Mandaviya

19 Jul 2024 | 8:04 PM

New Delhi, July 19 (UNI) Union Minister of Youth Affairs & Sports Mansukh Mandaviya on Friday emphasized the significance of encouraging young athletes to perform for the nation.

see more..

IM Norm Closed Circuit Chess Tournaments Phase-2 begins July 21

19 Jul 2024 | 4:30 PM

Chennai, July 19 (UNI) The Phase-2 series of the Tamil Nadu IM Norm Closed Circuit Chess Tournaments will begin here from July 21 to produce more IMs and GMs from TN, the cradle of Chess.

see more..

India make winning start in World Junior Squash Team event

19 Jul 2024 | 1:37 PM

Chennai, July 19 (UNI) India made a winning start in the Team event of the World Junior Squash Championships at Houston in US on Thursday, with the boys easing past Kuwait 3-0 in Group F
and the girls putting it past Chinese Taipei by an identical margin in Group D.

see more..

National 4W Racing resumes, 71 drivers in fray

19 Jul 2024 | 1:35 PM

Chennai, July 19 (UNI) The MRF MMSC-FMSCI Indian National Car Racing Championship 2024 – Powered by STORM-X resumes after a five-month break with Round-3 scheduled this weekend
(July 20-21) at the Madras International Circuit, at Irungattukottai, about 40 km from here.

see more..

Telangana’s Govardhan heading for clear gold at Regatta

19 Jul 2024 | 1:48 AM

Hyderabad, Jul 18 (UNI) Telangana sailor Govardhan Pallara sailed safe and was placed a comfortable 5 and 6 and looked set to be heading for a clear gold in the U-16 Optimist class of the 15th Monsoon Regatta at the Hussain Sagar lake here on Thursday afternoon.

see more..