Monday, Jan 30 2023 | Time 23:05 Hrs(IST)

New Zealand eye T20 World Cup with squad named to face Bangladesh

New Zealand eye T20 World Cup with squad named to face Bangladesh

Christchurch, Nov 28 (UNI) New Zealand's preparations for next year's ICC Women's T20 World Cup have amped up following the naming of their squad for upcoming white-ball matches at home against Bangladesh.
The White Ferns named a 15-player squad for the six white-ball contests against Bangladesh next month, with veteran skipper Sophie Devine to once again lead a strong New Zealand side.
Devine is joined in the squad by regulars Suzie Bates, Amelia Kerr, Jess Kerr, Maddy Green and Hayley Jensen, while experienced wicket-keeper-batter Jess McFadyen could be in line for a debut after she was included as a replacement for Izzy Gaze.
The series will be New Zealand's final hitout before they head to South Africa for February's T20 World Cup and head coach Ben Sawyer is hopeful of some positive results.
"Over the last couple of months we’ve put together a blueprint of how we want to play, particularly in the T20 format, with an eye on the World Cup next year," Sawyer said.
"This tour will be a great opportunity to continue working and refining those plans and making any necessary adjustments," he said.
"At the moment we think we’ve got a pretty good style of play and so it will be about putting all of
that together, on what should be some good wickets at home," Sawyer said.
New Zealand Squad: Sophie Devine (c), Suzie Bates, Eden Carson, Lauren Down, Maddy Green, Brooke Halliday, Hayley Jensen, Fran Jonas, Amelia Kerr, Jess Kerr, Jess McFadyen, Molly Penfold (ODIs only), Hannah Rowe (ODIs only), Georgia Plimmer (T20Is only), Lea Tahuhu (T20Is only).

More News

Ayush (154) & Suman (10-46) help Bengal U-25 team rout Sikkim by innings and 148 runs

30 Jan 2023 | 9:27 PM

Kolkata, Jan 30 (UNI) Ayush Kumar Singh scored a fine 154 while Suman Das bagged an impressive 10-wicket haul in the match including a hat-trick to help the Bengal under-25 team outclass Sikkim by an innings and 148 runs in the Col C K Nayudu Trophy on Monday.

see more..

Mukesh, Kazi a boost for Bengal in Ranji quarterfinals against Jharkhand

30 Jan 2023 | 9:21 PM

Kolkata, Jan 30 (UNI) Boosted by the inclusion of talented young batsman Kazi Junaid Saifi and
pacer Mukesh Kumar, a jubilant Bengal will aim to go all guns blazing to seal a place in the last four
when they take on Jharkhand in the Ranji Trophy quarter-finals at the Eden Gardens starting Tuesday.

see more..

Few opening hiccups, but favourites progress

30 Jan 2023 | 9:15 PM

Indore, Jan 30 (UNI) Ankur Bhattacharjee of West Bengal, title favourite in the Boys Singles, was forced to drop a game by Khelendrajit Yengkhom of Manipur before winning 3-1 the Khelo India Youth Games that began at the Abhay Prashal here on Monday.

see more..

KIIT-KISS DU become associate partners for Rugby India for three years

30 Jan 2023 | 9:10 PM

Bhubaneswar, Jan 30 (UNI) The KIIT and KISS DU on Monday entered into an agreement with the Indian Rugby Football Union (IRFU) to promote and popularise Rugby both at the grassroots level and the high-performance level.

see more..
Bengaluru FC appoint Albert Roca, Darren Caldeira

Bengaluru FC appoint Albert Roca, Darren Caldeira

30 Jan 2023 | 7:43 PM

Bengaluru, Jan 30 (UNI) Bengaluru FC on Monday announced the appointments of Albert Roca as Technical Consultant and Darren Caldeira as Director of Football.

see more..