Thursday, May 23 2024 | Time 06:33 Hrs(IST)
States » East

Bengal casts 15 pc votes in 2 hrs across 3 LS seats

Bengal casts 15 pc votes in 2 hrs across 3 LS seats

Kolkata, April 19 (UNI) An estimated 15 per cent of 5.6 million voters polled their votes in first two hours till 9 am in the three Lok Sabha constituencies of West Bengal -- Cooch Behar, Alipurduar and Jalpaiguri.
While Cooch Behar accounted for 15 per cent polling, Alipurduar for 16 per cent and Jalpaiguri for 14 per cent. Polling has been by and large peaceful so far with long queues seen outside many polling stations.
A total of 27,63,506 women are expected to exercise their constitutional rights to elect their representatives from among 30 odd contestants in some 5814 booths until 5 pm amid Sandeshkhali incident ripe in voters' mind.
About 250 companies of armed central forces were deployed and some 10,000 state police personnel have been posted to ensure peaceful and fair polling.

Thirteen extra CAPF companies were put on reserve to be used in case of any exigency.
Poll officials and election observers are monitoring the voting process in the field with no major incident reported so far.
The Election Commission has restricted Bengal minister Udayan Guha to his Dinhata segment after Cooch Behar's BJP contestant Nisith Pramanik appealed to the poll panel against his alleged intimidation. Guha was seen at the Dinhata police station this morning to complain an alleged attack on the TMC block president at Jenkins High School in Dinhata.
Though the contest is said to be multi-cornered, real fight is restricted between state ruling Trinamool Congress and main opposition - the Bharatiya Janata Party. The latter won all the three seats in 2019 Lok Sabha poll.
The Left Front and Congress are among other political parties, in the run up. The majority of the candidates are Independents.
The contest is expected to be between Union Minister Pramanik and TMC's Jagadish Chandra Barma Basunia in the Cooch Behar seat, in Alipurduar between Monoj Tigga (BJP) and TMC's Prakash Chik Baraik, and in Jalpaiguri between Jayanta Kumar Roy of BJP and Nirmal Chandra Roy from the ruling party.
The voting process commenced at 7 am under a tight security arrangement.

More News

Remal: EC alerts district administrations to keep all necessary arrangements in polling stations

22 May 2024 | 11:34 PM

Kolkata, May 22 (UNI) The Election Commission has alerted the district administrations to keep all necessary arrangements in polling stations in view of formation of Deep Depression ‘Remal’ over Central Bay of Bengal from May 23.

see more..

Meghalaya celebrates World Biological Diversity Day

22 May 2024 | 10:10 PM

Shillong, May 22 (UNI) The Meghalaya Biodiversity Board celebrated the International Day for Biological Diversity on Wednesday with the theme ‘Be Part of the Plan’ at U Soso Tham Auditorium here, with a focus on preserving the ecology of the hill state.

see more..

Manipur Governor unveils statue of Guru Tarunkumar

22 May 2024 | 10:04 PM

Imphal, May 22 (UNI) Governor of Manipur, Anusuiya Uikey, unveiled a statue of Guru Thiyam Tarunkumar Singh on occasion of golden jubilee celebration of Progressive Artiste Laboratory (PAL) at PAL complex here on Wednesday.

see more..

Mizo group distribute reliefs to Bangladesh refugees

22 May 2024 | 9:21 PM

Aizawl, May 22 (UNI) Young Mizo Association (YMA)’s Tuichawng group in southernmost Mizoram’s Lawngtlai district on Wednesday distributed rice and daos (small machetes) to refugees entering from Bangladesh’s Chittagong Hill Tracts and taking shelter in the area.

see more..

Arunachal Dy CM dedicates Chongkham Raj Vihara to people

22 May 2024 | 8:04 PM

Itanagar, May 22 (UNI) In a momentous ceremony, Arunachal Pradesh Deputy Chief Minister Chowna Mein on Wednesday dedicated the Chongkham Raj Vihara, a revered Buddhist monastery, to the people of Chongkham, Namsai district amidst the presence of several dignitaries, monks, and community members.

see more..