Saturday, Jun 15 2024 | Time 16:02 Hrs(IST)
States » East

13.96L voters in Tripura East to decide fate of 9 candidates

Agartala, April 25 (UNI) The stage is set to hold the election to Tripura East (ST) parliamentary seat on Friday across 1,664 polling stations where 13,96,761 electorates, including 6,94,237 females, and 14 transgender will decide the fate of nine candidates.
Veteran CPI-M leader and former MLA Rajendra Reang will contesting as INDI alliance nominee against BJP’s candidate who hails from Chattishgarh Kriti Singh Debbarman, the elder sister of TIPRA Motha’s founder and royal scion Pradyot Kishore Debbarman besides seven independent candidates.
Comprising 30 assembly segments, East Tripura has 49 percent tribal voters from Dhalai, North Tripura, Unakoti, Khowai, and 4 assemblies of South Tripura and 3 assemblies of Gomati districts, which registered at least 4,678 service voters, 8,942 voters of over 85 years old and 11,012 physically challenged electorates.
More News

BJP constitutes 4-member party committee to make on the spot study of alleged post-poll violence in Bengal

15 Jun 2024 | 3:42 PM

Kolkata, June 15 (UNI) BJP's National President Jagat Prakash Nadda on Saturday constituted a four-member committee headed by former Tripura Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb as the Convenor to visit West Bengal to make on the spot study regarding the alleged violence after the June 4 Lok Sabha results were out and submit a report to him, Party sources said.

see more..
Arunachal CM allocates portfolios to his Council of Ministers

Arunachal CM allocates portfolios to his Council of Ministers

15 Jun 2024 | 3:23 PM

Itanagar, June 15 (UNI) Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Pema Khandu on Saturday allocated portfolios to his newly sworn-in Council of Ministers, keeping with him key departments like Hydropower, PWD, General Administration and other departments not assigned to any Minister.

see more..

Left Front names three candidates for July 10 by-poll in Bengal

15 Jun 2024 | 3:12 PM

Kolkata, June 15 (UNI) The Left Front has announced three candidates for the four assembly seats in West Bengal, which go to by-poll on July 10.

see more..

Sikkim Government approaches IAF to airlift stranded tourists from North Sikkim

15 Jun 2024 | 2:59 PM

Gangtok, June 15 (UNI) The Sikkim government has approached the Indian Air Force (IAF) to airlift tourists stranded at Lachung in North Sikkim, official sources said on Saturday.

see more..

Tripura man sentenced to 20 years for sexually assaulting minor

15 Jun 2024 | 1:05 PM

Agartala, June 15 (UNI) A District and Sessions Court in Tripura has sentenced a 65-year-old man to 20 years of imprisonment for sexual assault on a minor.

see more..