Wednesday, Jun 26 2024 | Time 00:01 Hrs(IST)
States » North

Over 25.93 pc turnout till 11 AM in Jammu-Reasi Constituency

Over 25.93 pc turnout till 11 AM in Jammu-Reasi Constituency

Jammu, Apr 26 (UNI) The Jammu Parliamentary Constituency recorded over 25.93 per cent polling in the first four hours till 11 AM on Friday.
According to the office of the Jammu and Kashmir Chief Election Officer, while Gulabgarh (ST) recorded highest 31.1 per cent polling, Reasi registered 33.79 per cent, Shri Mata Vaishno Devi 31.25 per cent, Ramgrah (SC) 28.28 per cent, Samba 29.59 per cent, Vijaypur 25.44 per cent, Bishnah (SC) 27.63 per cent, Suchetgarh (SC) 25.71 per cent, R S Pura-Jammu South 24.46 per cent, Bahu 21.04 per cent, Jammu East 21.72 percent, Nagrota 29.4 per cent, Jammu West 19.39 per cent, Jammu North 23.25 per cent, Marh (SC) 29.16 per cent, Akhnoor (SC) 29.75 per cent, Chhamb 25.13 per cent and Kalakote-Sunderbani 29.79 per cent till 11 AM.
Long queues of voters, especially women and first time voters, attired in traditional outfits, were seen thronging to their nearest polling stations.
Earlier in the morning, polling began with enthusiasm, especially among the new voters.
Across various assembly segments of the parliamentary constituency, voters were seen standing in queues much ahead of the scheduled time for polling.
The Election Commission has put in place all necessary arrangements to ensure a fair and transparent electoral process.
The polling began at 7 AM in all 2416 polling stations across the constituency.
Mock poll was also conducted successfully in all the polling stations.
More than 17.80 lakh voters on the Jammu Parliamentary seat will decide the fate of 22 candidates, who are in the fray.
The border residents to play a key role as the constituency will witness direct fight between the Congress and the BJP candidates.
Out of the 18 Assembly segments of Jammu constituency, nine segments have votes in border areas, both on IB and LoC including Ramgarh and Samba Assembly segments of Samba district, Bishnah, Suchetgarh, Ranbir Singh Pura, Marh, Akhnoor and Chammb of district Jammu and Sunderbani-Kalakote Assembly segment of Rajouri district.
17,80,835 lakh voters, 9,21,095 male and 8,59,712 female voters, besides 28 third gender electorate are eligible to vote for this seat.

More News

HSSC revises result of CET Group C Stage-1

25 Jun 2024 | 11:47 PM

Chandigarh, June 25 (UNI) The revised result of CET Group C Stage-1 has been released by
the Haryana Staff Selection Commission (HSSC) in accordance with the High Court
judgment dated May 31, by preparing the merit list solely on the basis of CET marks of the
candidate that is without giving the benefit of socio-economic criteria marks.

see more..

Punjab: Operation Lotus will not succeed in Shiromani Akali Dal: Sarna

25 Jun 2024 | 11:43 PM

Chandigarh/ Delhi, June 25 (UNI) The BJP-sponsored "Operation Lotus" aimed at the
Shiromani Akali Dal will fail, asserted Paramjit Singh Sarna, the chief of the party’s
Delhi unit.

see more..
Army's Corps Commander visits Uri sector in J&K's Baramulla

Army's Corps Commander visits Uri sector in J&K's Baramulla

25 Jun 2024 | 11:35 PM

Srinagar, June 25 (UNI) Army on Tuesday said that the counter infiltration operation in the Uri sector of Baramulla district has concluded with the killing of two militants.

see more..

Farooq calls for all-out war against drug abuse in J&K

25 Jun 2024 | 11:34 PM

Srinagar, June 25 (UNI) National Conference President Farooq Abdullah on Tuesday called for an all-out war against the burgeoning menace of substance abuse in Jammu and Kashmir.

see more..

Punjab Govt declares paid holiday on July 10 for voters of Jalandhar West constituency

25 Jun 2024 | 11:32 PM

Chandigarh, June 26 (UNI) In view of by-poll in Jalandhar West, the Punjab Government declared a paid holiday on July 10 to the voters of Jalandhar West constituency who are employees working in the shops and commercial establishments and for workers working in the factories in the State.

see more..