Tuesday, Jun 25 2024 | Time 12:08 Hrs(IST)
States » North

57.76 pc voter turnout in Jammu-Reasi Constituency till 3 pm

57.76 pc voter turnout in Jammu-Reasi Constituency till 3 pm

Jammu, April 26 (UNI) The Jammu-Reasi Parliamentary Constituency recorded 57.76 percent turnout till 3 pm with highest 65.78 percent in Akhnoor segment.
As per the official figures, Akhnoor (SC) recorded 65.78 percent, Bahu 49.31 percent, Bishnah (SC) 59.85 percent, Chhamb 60.19 percent, Gulabgarh (ST) 63.07 percent, Jammu East 53.33 percent, Jammu North 51.99 percent, Jammu West 50.17 percent, Kalakote - Sunderbani 59.39 percent, Marh (SC) 60.71 percent, Nagrota 61.76 percent, R S Pura - Jammu South 52.37 percent, Ramgarh (SC) 58.95 percent, Reasi 64.19 percent, Samba 61.36 percent, Shri Mata Vaishno Devi 64.77 percent, Suchetgarh (SC) 55.70 percent and Vijaypur 56.39 percent.
Long queues of voters, especially the women and first time voters, attired in traditional outfits, were seen thronging to their nearest polling stations.
Earlier in the morning, the polling began with enthusiasm, especially among the new voters.
Across various assembly segments of the parliamentary constituency, voters were seen standing in queues much ahead of the scheduled time for polling.
The Election Commission has put in place all necessary arrangements to ensure a fair and transparent electoral process.
The polling began at 7 am in all 2416 polling stations across the constituency.
Mock poll was also conducted successfully in all the polling stations.
More than 17.80 lakh voters on the Jammu Parliamentary seat will decide the fate of 22 candidates, who are in the fray.
The border residents to play a key role as the constituency will witness direct fight between the Congress and the BJP candidates.
Out of the 18 Assembly segments of Jammu constituency, nine segments have votes in border areas, both on IB and LoC including Ramgarh and Samba Assembly segments of Samba district, Bishnah, Suchetgarh, Ranbir Singh Pura, Marh, Akhnoor and Chammb of district Jammu and Sunderbani-Kalakote Assembly segment of Rajouri district.
17,80,835 lakh voters including 9,21,095 male and 8,59,712 female voters besides 28 third gender electorates are eligible to vote for this seat.

More News

Hamas insists that Russia be one of guarantors of Gaza ceasefire

25 Jun 2024 | 11:01 AM

Hamas, June 25 (UNI) The Palestinian movement Hamas insists that Russia should be one of the guarantors of the ceasefire in the Gaza Strip, Hamas political bureau deputy head Musa Abu Marzouk told Sputnik.

see more..

Punjab:Three arrested in connection with Rs 23L heist

25 Jun 2024 | 2:17 AM

Hoshiarpur (Punjab), Jun 24 (UNI) In a swift operation, the Hoshiarpur police have arrested three people, including an employee of the Sri Nath Tunch Gold Testing Lab, in connection of an alleged heist of Rs 23 lakh involving cash, gold and silver at Sarafa Bazaar on Sunday.

see more..

HP: CM Sukhu, ex-CM continue to trade barbs at each other

25 Jun 2024 | 2:01 AM

Shimla, Jun 24 (UNI) Although the political storm has calmed down after the Rajya Sabha election, political turmoil in Himachal Pradesh could not reach a logical conclusion, as Chief Minister Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu and the BJP continued to trade barbs at each other.

see more..

J&K orders creation of new administrative units of GRP

24 Jun 2024 | 11:28 PM

Jammu, June 24 (UNI) Jammu and Kashmir government on Monday ordered creation of new administrative units of the Government Railways Police (GRP).

see more..
Srinagar: Massive fire damages mosque & several structures in Bohri Kadal

Srinagar: Massive fire damages mosque & several structures in Bohri Kadal

24 Jun 2024 | 11:15 PM

Srinagar, June 24 (UNI) A massive fire in Srinagar's old city destroyed several commercial and residential structures, including a mosque on Monday, officials said.

see more..