Monday, Jan 30 2023 | Time 23:47 Hrs(IST)

Ruturaj Gaikwad slams record 7 sixes in 1 over

Ruturaj Gaikwad slams record 7 sixes in 1 over

Ahmedabad, Nov 28 (UNI) India batter Ruturaj Gaikwad on Monday shattered List A cricket record by slamming seven consecutive sixes in a Vijay Hazare Trophy quarterfinal clash here.
Uttar Pradesh bowler Shiva Singh was at the receiving end of the mayhem caused by Gaikwad, who slammed seven sixes in a row – 6 6 6 6 6nb 6 6.
With that, Gaikwad became the first batsman in the history of white-ball cricket to have struck seven consecutive sixes in an over.
The Maharashtra opener finished his fiery knock unbeaten on 220 off 159 balls. His solid innings, which was studded with 10 fours and 16 sixes, helped his side set up a competitive total of 330/5 in 50 overs, ICC reported.
The record for the most number of sixes in an over in all forms of cricket is held by a former Blackcaps wicket-keeper batter, Lee Germon, who struck eight sixes in an over which included 17 no-balls and cost 77 runs, in a first-class game during the 1989–90 season.
Gaikwad's 43-run over also became the joint-most expensive over in the history of List A cricket, previously achieved by Northern Districts's Brett Hampton and Joe Carter in New Zealand's domestic 50-over game in 2018.
Only four players have achieved the feat of hitting six sixes in an over in international cricket – South Africa's Herschelle Gibbs, India's Yuvraj Singh, West Indies' Kieron Pollard and USA's Jaskaran Malhotra.

More News
Mamata announces Rs 5 lakh each for winning inaugural World Cup U-19  women cricket

Mamata announces Rs 5 lakh each for winning inaugural World Cup U-19 women cricket

30 Jan 2023 | 10:14 PM

Kolkata, Jan 30 (UNI) West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Monday announced a
monetary rewards of Rs 5 lakh each to four World Cup-winning cricketers, who represented Bengal
in the Indian team Under-19 Women, which won the inaugural Women's T20 championship in South
Africa on Sunday.

see more..

Ayush (154) & Suman (10-46) help Bengal U-25 team rout Sikkim by innings and 148 runs

30 Jan 2023 | 9:27 PM

Kolkata, Jan 30 (UNI) Ayush Kumar Singh scored a fine 154 while Suman Das bagged an impressive 10-wicket haul in the match including a hat-trick to help the Bengal under-25 team outclass Sikkim by an innings and 148 runs in the Col C K Nayudu Trophy on Monday.

see more..

Mukesh, Kazi a boost for Bengal in Ranji quarterfinals against Jharkhand

30 Jan 2023 | 9:21 PM

Kolkata, Jan 30 (UNI) Boosted by the inclusion of talented young batsman Kazi Junaid Saifi and
pacer Mukesh Kumar, a jubilant Bengal will aim to go all guns blazing to seal a place in the last four
when they take on Jharkhand in the Ranji Trophy quarter-finals at the Eden Gardens starting Tuesday.

see more..

Few opening hiccups, but favourites progress

30 Jan 2023 | 9:15 PM

Indore, Jan 30 (UNI) Ankur Bhattacharjee of West Bengal, title favourite in the Boys Singles, was forced to drop a game by Khelendrajit Yengkhom of Manipur before winning 3-1 the Khelo India Youth Games that began at the Abhay Prashal here on Monday.

see more..

KIIT-KISS DU become associate partners for Rugby India for three years

30 Jan 2023 | 9:10 PM

Bhubaneswar, Jan 30 (UNI) The KIIT and KISS DU on Monday entered into an agreement with the Indian Rugby Football Union (IRFU) to promote and popularise Rugby both at the grassroots level and the high-performance level.

see more..