Saturday, Jun 15 2024 | Time 17:09 Hrs(IST)
States » East

Around 47.29 pc polling in three LS seats in Bengal till 1 PM

Around 47.29 pc polling in three LS seats in Bengal till 1 PM

Kolkata, Apr 26 (UNI) An estimated 47.29 per cent of over 51,17,955 electorate exercised their franchise in the second phase election to three Lok Sabha seats of Darjeeling, Balurghat and Raiganj in North Bengal districts till 1 PM on Friday.
According to Election Commission sources, while Darjeeling accounted for 49.09 per cent polling, Raiganj registered 47.56 and Balurghat 44.93 per cent.
Meanwhile, BJP received a major jolt when party candidate and former SP Debashish Dhar's candidature from B was rejected during scrutiny, official sources said.
His candidature was rejected for not submitting 'no due' certificate.
In his place BJP nominee Debtanu Bhattacharya will contest the poll, sources said adding the BJP was in the mind that the ruling party had been after the former Cooch Behar SP's efforts to contest the election.
Dhar said he was contemplating a move seeking judicial intervention as he was already cleared by the office of President of India.
BJP state president Sukanta Majumder accused the TMC of indulging in “hooliganism” in Balurghat, which, however, was denied by the ruling party.
Chaos prevailed at Booth no 100 at Patiram in Balurghat where Majumdar allegedly faced "go back" slogan by the TMC supporters when he went there to check voting.
He alleged his polling agent Goutam Burman was beaten up by the TMC activists and hospitalised.
He said a complaint has been lodged with the Election Commission against the TMC. The poll panel has asked the administration to submit an action-taken report in connection with the incident at the earliest.
About 272 companies of Central Armed Forces and nearly 13,000 state police personnel have been deployed to ensure the ECI-mandated free and fair polling.
Over 51,17,955 electorate, including 25,10,356 women, are expected to exercise their franchise to return three winners among 47 aspirants from different political parties, including that of ruling Trinamool Congress, principal Opposition Bharatiya Janata Party and the Left Front in about 5298 polling stations.
The three Parliamentary Constituencies - Darjeeling, Raiganj (Uttar Dinajpur) and Balurghat (Dakshin Dinajpur) - in as many contiguous districts fall in two international borders of Bangladesh.
Of the total booths, 1334 have been identified as vulnerable where
some nine ECI appointed observers, three each of General, Police and Expenditure have been overseeing the ongoing preparation and arrangement for polling.
The number of male and female voters has increased considerably this time.
While Darjeeling accounts for 17,65,744, including 8,81,368 women, Raigunj accounts for 17,90,245, including 8,65,320 women, and Balurghat 15,61,966, including 7,13 668 women.
So is the number of third gender voters. A total of 210 third gender electors will also cast their votes, this time, the maximum
number being in Raiganj Constituency.
In Raiganj, total 88 third gender voters will be exercising their franchises. In 2019, their numbers were 73 for the Raiganj Constituency.
Next in comes Balurghat, where 81 third gender electors will cast their votes.
In Darjeeling Parliamentary Constituency, 41 third gender electors will be exercising their franchises.
Eds : Pls Pick Up Suitably From Earlier Series.

More News
Pongte elected as Arunachal assembly Speaker, Kardo Nyigyor as Deputy Speaker

Pongte elected as Arunachal assembly Speaker, Kardo Nyigyor as Deputy Speaker

15 Jun 2024 | 4:57 PM

Itanagar, June 15 (UNI) Three-time BJP MLA from Changlang North constituency, Tesam Pongte was on Saturday elected unanimously as the Speaker of the Arunachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly.

see more..

Odisha CM directs Health Dept to investigate Kashipur death cases

15 Jun 2024 | 4:50 PM

Bhubaneswar, June 15 (UNI) Odisha Chief Minister Mohan Charan Majhi on Saturday directed the State Health Department and the Regional Medical Research Centre (RMRC) to investigate and determine the reasons for the deaths in Manuspadar village in the Kashipur block of Rayagada district.

see more..
Four criminals loot over Rs 17 lakh from Axis Bank

Four criminals loot over Rs 17 lakh from Axis Bank

15 Jun 2024 | 3:49 PM

Patna, June 15 (UNI) Four criminals, carrying weapons, looted Rs 17,36,000 from Axis Bank branch under Bihta police station area in the state capital on Saturday.

see more..

BJP constitutes 4-member party committee to make on the spot study of alleged post-poll violence in Bengal

15 Jun 2024 | 3:42 PM

Kolkata, June 15 (UNI) BJP's National President Jagat Prakash Nadda on Saturday constituted a four-member committee headed by former Tripura Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb as the Convenor to visit West Bengal to make on the spot study regarding the alleged violence after the June 4 Lok Sabha results were out and submit a report to him, Party sources said.

see more..
Arunachal CM allocates portfolios to his Council of Ministers

Arunachal CM allocates portfolios to his Council of Ministers

15 Jun 2024 | 3:23 PM

Itanagar, June 15 (UNI) Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Pema Khandu on Saturday allocated portfolios to his newly sworn-in Council of Ministers, keeping with him key departments like Hydropower, PWD, General Administration and other departments not assigned to any Minister.

see more..